(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 04 Dec 2020, 00:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
FrugalPup 20 - Puppy frugal installer.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 13 [181 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2020, 11:38    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 8.0
Frugal install
Save folder

Bionicpup updates installs Frugalpup v11 and only puts stickpup in the menu.
666philb only wanted to use Stickpup in the menu, but the complete Frugalpup is there, when frugalpup is run from terminal.

The Frugalpup _18sb.sfs loads. but no menu entry is made.
Still have to run from terminal.
does not seem to show up as 18sb when you run it.
It still shows as v11.
So, I assume it is still v11 running.

I turned the FrugalPup_18sb.sfs into a pet package.
Installed the pet.
Now have FrugalPup in menu.
It runs FrugalPup 18sb

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Feb 2020, 12:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
Error message:
It means exactly what it says, the script '/usr/local/frugalpup /frugalpup-dobootpart' failed because it could not find the named directory.
The named directory looks quite odd, as though the script got a little confused. The question is, why did it try to use that name?
Unfortunately I would need to know the full set of imputs used to get to that result, in order to have any chance reproducing it.

USB flash drive.
2 partitions.
sdb1 fat32 small 500MB
sdb2 ext 3 28GB

This is strange.
I originally got this error when trying to install a boot loader in sdb1.
Selected both as boot type.
I was using the Frugalpup 18sb sfs loaded in Xenialpup64 7.5.

I tried it again now using Frugalpup 18sb as an installed pet in Bionicpup64 8.0.
No error.
It installed both boot loader types in sdb1.

Process followed.
Main Window select Puppy button.
Source type iso.
Selected the iso containing files.
Selected sdb2 as location to contain Puppy.
Made directory bionicpup6480 on sdb2
Choose sdb2/bionicpup6480 as directory to contain frugal puppy files.
Click ok, on sanity check, show all my selections as good.
Installation complete with frugal install in sdb2/bionicpup6480
Boot loader on sdb1

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Feb 2020, 07:46    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
gyro wrote:
Yes, the MOK screens need documentation. but since we are not the only folk who use MOK manager, I'm hoping to find some on the web before the release of FrugalPup v19.
You can find one here. The location of the key is a bit different, but everything else should more or less work the same way. Feel free to modify as needed (edit the image with mtpaint/gimp if you like Laughing)
Thanks.
I will "borrow" it and hopefully change it to more acurately reflect the directory structure, I use.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Feb 2020, 07:59    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
This is strange.
I originally got this error when trying to install a boot loader in sdb1.
Selected both as boot type.
I was using the Frugalpup 18sb sfs loaded in Xenialpup64 7.5.

I tried it again now using Frugalpup 18sb as an installed pet in Bionicpup64 8.0.
No error.
It installed both boot loader types in sdb1.
I was afraid of that.
I'll try using the .sfs in Xenialpup64.

Re Bionicpup64:
Aa you are aware, every time you update it, FrugalPup returns to v11, because that is included in the update .zip file.
So the update writes FrugalPup v11 to the savefolder, which of course "covers" the contents of any FrugalPup.sfs.
An alternative way of dealing with this is to remove all the files in '/usr/local/frugalpup' and '/usr/local/mi-utils' from the Bionicpup64 savefolder, using a different Puppy.
Also, 'FrugalPup' can be enabled in the menu with the menu editor.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Feb 2020, 09:36    Post subject:  

@bigpup,
I am unable to reproduce the error you saw, even using Xenialpup64 and a stick with fat32 and ext3 partitions.

However I did find a bug:
The "Puppy" facility fails to write Puppy files to the root of a partiition, i.e. if there is no "psubdir" specified, even though it says it does.
The fix will be part of the next version.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Feb 2020, 18:53    Post subject:  

I got around the V11 problem in Bionicpup64 8.0 by installing FrugalPup 18sb as a pet package not loaded as a sfs.
That overwrites, what is in the save, to the newer version.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Feb 2020, 07:13    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Tried different boot selection.
Selected boot type:
both.
Got this error. (see image)

I've found a situation that produces that error message.
The problem is FrugalPup's 2 step process in selecting a direcory,
1. Select a partition.
2. Select a directory.
The assumption is that the directory selected in step 2. is within the partition selected in step 1.
If the selected directory is in some other partition, then the problem occurs.

Unfortunately, FrugalPup often uses this process.
I'll have to review each of these cases to ensure that the selected partition always contains the selected directory.

It would be easiest if I could get yad to only allow selection of a directory within a specified partition, but I don't think that is possible.

The reason for using a 2 step process is so that FrugalPup can mount the selected partition before directory selection, if it is not already.mounted.

Note: I suspect that this is an issue for all versions of FrugalPup.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2020, 07:59    Post subject: FrugalPup 18t  

FrugalPup 18t, DiskPup 18t, StickPup 18t and f2StickPup 18t - Puppy frugal installer.

Download extra sfs 'frugalpup_18t.sfs' from http://www.mediafire.com/folder/rdyc5lgzpeij1/frugalpup (2.9 MiB).

This is a test release.

It includes fixes for both bugs mentioned above.
It does not include any MOK doco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2020, 22:21    Post subject:  

Known issue:

The "BootCD" facility in "FrugalPup" does not produce a bootable ".iso" file.
It needs to be re-worked since the change to booting grub4dos and then chaining to grub2.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2020, 08:30    Post subject:  

FrugalPup 19, DiskPup 19, StickPup 19 and f2StickPup 19 - Puppy frugal installer.

Download extra sfs 'frugalpup_19.sfs' from http://www.mediafire.com/folder/rdyc5lgzpeij1/frugalpup (2.9 MiB).

This is a feature release.

1. Support for "Secure Boot"
Thanks to forum member "jamesbond", support is included for booting Puppy while "Secure Boot" is enabled.
Although this does require the "enrolling" of a MOK (Machine Owner Key), with MOK manager.
The Puppy MOK is contained in the file "/puppy.cer" in the fat32 install partition.
Documentation of the "enroll" process is included in FrugalPup's "Help" facility.

2. Non-uefi boots now use grub4dos to chainload Grub2, rather than directly booting Grub2.
Installing the mbr for grub4dos is a lot simpler than installing the mbr for Grub2.

3. The FrugalPup "BootCD" facility has been re-worked to cleanly ignore installing grub4dos.
Even though it is a non-uefi boot, it still boots Grub2 directly.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2626

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2020, 11:59    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:
.

2. Non-uefi boots now use grub4dos to chainload Grub2, rather than directly booting Grub2.
Installing the mbr for grub4dos is a lot simpler than installing the mbr for Grub2.


I like that idea Smile I'm going to have to look to see how you did it.

_________________
Find me on minds and on pearltrees.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Feb 2020, 13:48    Post subject:  

s243a wrote:
gyro wrote:
2. Non-uefi boots now use grub4dos to chainload Grub2, rather than directly booting Grub2.
Installing the mbr for grub4dos is a lot simpler than installing the mbr for Grub2.


I like that idea Smile I'm going to have to look to see how you did it.
This is the 'menu.lst':
Code:
timeout 0
default 0

title grub2
  kernel /boot/grub/i386-pc/core.img
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Feb 2020, 01:25    Post subject:  

Tried using f2StickPup 19
It seems to have done everything OK.
Made a bootable install of Bionicpup64 8.0 to a USB flash drive.
sda1 small 100mb partition with boot files on it.
sda2 f2fs partition with Bionicpup64 8.0 frugal install.

Boots OK with secure boot enabled.
Did not have to do any MOK manager stuff, but I had already done that with another install.
So, probably is already setup in computer, to just look for the Puppy MOK.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Feb 2020, 02:24    Post subject:  

In the FrugalPup help. (index.html)

I suggest you make this change to the information on;

<b>DiskPup</b><br />
Does no partitioning or formating; The drive will need to already be partitioned and formatted. <br />
Best to have minimum of two partitions. First partition; a 100mb size, formatted fat32 (boot partition).<br />
One or more other partition(s), any format (ext 3 or 4 recommended), and minimum several GB in size (install location).<br />
Installs a single Puppy linux in a specified directory, and the boot loader (Grub2) in a specified fat32 partition.<br />
The Puppy linux directory can be on the same partition as the boot loader (if there is enough free space), or on a different partition.</p>

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Feb 2020, 10:28    Post subject:  

@bigpup,
Thanks for testing, and your suggestion.
I have accepted lines 1, 4, and 5.

The modified entry, that will appear in the next version, follows:

<b>DiskPup</b><br />
Does no partitioning or formating; The drive will need to already be partitioned and formatted. <br />
Installs a single Puppy linux in a specified directory, and the boot loader (Grub2) in a specified fat32 partition.<br />
The Puppy linux directory can be on the same partition as the boot loader, or on a different partition.</p>

My rationale for not using lines 2, and 3, is that I want this stuff to focus on simply, what the utility does.

One day I might write some "How To" stuff, that includes recommendations.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 13 [181 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.9680s ][ Queries: 12 (0.8735s) ][ GZIP on ]